Working with 50 high school goalies in St. Cloud

Just finished up working at the 2017 Minnesota Hockey Dave Peterson CCM High Performance Camp that was held, Aug. 3-6, at St. Cloud State University.

The four-day, invite-only goalie development program, now in its 13th year, is designed to improve the individual skills and techniques of goalies in the 15-to 18-year-old age group.

Coach Steve Carroll at Dave Peterson Camp.

I think it’s extremely important that Minnesota Hockey provides high-level skill development opportunities for boys and girls in this age group.

These are highly motivated athletes who are determined to improve their skills and overall game so they can help their high school teams achieve success. Many of the participants have their sights set on playing college hockey and beyond.

Training was led by a combination of Minnesota’s top college and high school goalie coaches.

We were also joined this year by Phil Osaer, manager of goaltending, for USA Hockey’s American Development Model.

Three current Minnesota goalies from NCAA Division I and Division III hockey teams serves as on-ice demonstrators/counselors. This year’s counselors were David Zevnik, Lakeville, St. Cloud State University; Lauren Bench, Burnsville, Bemidji State University; Ashley Corcoran, Red Wing, Saint Mary’s University.

Goalies who made their district/section teams in the Minnesota Hockey CCM High Performance boys and girls programs were invited to participate in the camp. The goalies got 12 hours of on-ice training and about 12 hours of off-ice instruction. The off-ice topics included sports performance training, nutrition, hockey after high school, vision training and goalie yoga.

Former participants include:

  • Charlie Lindgren, Lakeville, who played at St. Cloud State and is in the Montreal Canadiens organization.
  • Zane McIntyre, Thief River Falls, who played at North Dakota and won the Mike Richter Award as college hockey’s top goalie before signing a pro contract with the Boston Bruins organization.
  • Alex Lyon, Baudette, played at Yale University before signing contract with the Philadelphia Flyers organization.
  • Jenna Boss, Roseville, won the 2014 NCAA Women’s National Hockey Championship with Clarkson University.
  • Emma May, Eagan, won the 2016 NCAA Women’s Hockey National Championship with the University of Minnesota.
  • Shyler Sletta, New Prague, 2012, 2013, 2015 NCAA National Championship teams with University of Minnesota.

The camp is named in honor of Dave Peterson, a former Minneapolis Southwest High School hockey coach, who was a passionate leader in goalie development. Peterson also served as head coach of the U.S. Men’s Olympic hockey teams in 1988 and 1992.

Learn more about the camp at camp.