Caroll Goalie School becomes a sponsor of LPH Senior Goalie of the Year Award

I am pleased to be one of the sponsors of this year’s award. Many of the semifinalists have trained with us at some point during their high school careers. Our 2012 girls high school session is Oct. 26-28.

MINNEAPOLIS ­­— Let’s Play Hockey newspaper announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2012 Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award, presented to the top senior girls’ high school hockey goaltender in Minnesota.

The 10 semifinalists combine for a 1.59 goals-against average, a .933 save and a grade-point average of 3.66. The 10 semifinalists for the Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award are as follows, in alphabetical order (statistics through games of Feb. 1):

Semifinalist                         School                          W-L-T          GAA     SV%     SO       College
Erika Allen                          Roseville Area               15-2-1         0.96      .953      8          Bethel
Madeleine Dahl                   Edina                            15-4-6         1.57      .925      4          Union
Madison Denny                   Andover                        14-8-0         1.28      .943      5          TBD
Tori Herrmann                      Elk River/Zimmerman     17-3-3         1.48      .929      4          Saint. Mary’s
Tara Hoverstad                    Blaine                           11-9-3         1.84      .930      4          TBD
Gillian McDonald                 Irondale                        18-4-1         1.22      .936      7          UW-River Falls
Katie McLain                       Anoka                           21-1-2         1.53      .940      3          TBD
Allie Morse                          Park                             9-9-1           2.50      .916      0          TBD
Taylor Neisen                      Breck                            16-2-1         1.63      .943      4          TBD
Samantha Scobee               Mound Westonka          16-7-1         1.93      .934      3          Saint Benedict

The five finalists for the Senior Goalie of the Year Award will be named in the Feb. 9 edition of Let’s Play Hockey with the winner announced at the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet on Sunday, Feb. 26, at 11:30 a.m., at the St. Paul RiverCentre. The 10 semifinalists for the Ms. Hockey Award were also announced today. The five finalists for Ms. Hockey will be named in the Feb. 16 edition of Let’s Play Hockey. The Senior Goalie of the Year Award is sponsored by the Carroll Goalie School. Both awards are sponsored by Let’s Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild, Shock Doctor and DCS Image.

In addition to on-ice talent, criteria for the Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award include academics, community/extracurricular activities, citizenship and coachability. Past winners: 2011 Julie Friend (Minnetonka), 2010 Kallie Billadeau (Hopkins), 2009 Laura Bellamy (Duluth), 2008 Alyssa Grogan (Eagan), 2007 Ashley Nixon (Blaine), 2006 Allana McCready (Centennial), 2005 Johanna Ellison (Cloquet/Esko/Carlton), 2004 Emily Brookshaw (Hill-Murray), 2003 Robin Doepke (Chaska), 2002 Amber Hasbargen (Warroad), 2001 Jody Horak (Blaine), 2000 Shari Vogt (River Lakes), 1999 Katie Beauduy (Blaine).

Other awards that will be presented at the banquet include the Ms. Hockey Award, which goes to the top senior in girls’ high school hockey, as well as the Minnesota Girls High School Hockey Coaches Association’s Coaches of the Year, and All-State and All-Academic Award winners for the 2011-12 season.

For more information on the Ms. Hockey banquet, call Let’s Play Hockey at 612-729-0023.